This event has already occurred
Slideshow image
Save to your Calendar

The ecclesiastical province meets as a synod (a governing body) every three years, while it's executive council meets twice a year. 

Please pray for our diocesan delegates:


Gloria Hockley (Haro)

I currently hold the position of Provincial Synod lay representative, plus Provincial Council representative. I serve on the parish council for Pender/Saturna (we are all wardens), as chalice assistant, reader, choir member, leader for some Circle/Morning Prayer services, and media writer. I currently serve as president of the diocesan Anglican Church Women, previously as recording secretary and attend national conferences throughout Canada. Primate Hiltz appointed me as Anglican Church delegate to the Status of Women Commission 2013 at United Nations, NYC. Related experience includes: National ACW Secretary, Yukon parish council, Yukon ACW president, United Church parish office manager.

Michael King (Tolmie)

I have been an active member of St John the Divine in Victoria since 2006. In 2009, I was elected to parish council. While serving on parish council, I was a member of the diocesan communications committee and worked on St. John’s Aspire campaign. In 2010, I was elected as an alternate Synod delegate and was able to attend and participate in the synod deliberations. I was parish administrator at St Matthias for nearly 3 years. In 2013, I married my partner at St John. Currently, I am the rector’s warden at St. John.

Jennifer Sharlow (Tolmie)

Over the years, I have volunteered or been a staff member in many areas of the church. I have worked in children’s ministry, participated as a member of the parish council and been on the pastoral care committee. I am currently finishing off a master’s degree at Vancouver School of Theology. I also have a leadership diploma from Sauder Business School and am working on a certificate in diversity and inclusivity. I am very interested in many issues affecting our communities and churches; including the work of reconciliation with Indigenous peoples, how to make our churches more welcoming to diverse groups of people, caring for our environment, being involved in ecumenical and inter-religious conversations and enhancing our spirituality through the arts.  


Craig Hiebert (Tolmie)

I am currently the incumbent of St Mary the Virgin, Oak Bay (from 2015), the dean of the Tolmie region (from 2017) and a member of the Cathedral Chapter (from 2019). Prior to ordination as an Anglican, I served in youth and family ministry for over 20 years. I have always been active in promoting collaborative ministry between parishes, seeing the local parish as a manifestation of the 'big picture' work of God in the wider church. It is this very passion for and experience with an integrated life as a wide family of faith that I bring to table as a delegate to Provincial Synod. 

Clara Plamondon (Cowichan/Malaspina)

Currently incumbent at St. Paul, Nanaimo and regional archdeacon. Served on Diocesan Council for 2 terms and have been involved in various ministries: Ministry Discernment Committee, Vision Jury, Governance Task Force, Diocesan Women’s Retreat, Clergy Retreat Planning Team. Served as recording secretary and currently prolocutor for Ecclesiastical Province of BC & Yukon, served as member of Council of General Synod 2013-2016. I have strong skills in administration, collaborative ministry, and a deep heart for our church. These skills along with my diocesan and parish ministry enhance the gifts I would bring to both provincial and national levels of our church.  

More information about the provincial synod can be found on the ecclesiastical province's website 

For additional information please contact the provincial prolocutor, Clara Plamondon at


The Ecclesiastical Province of British Columbia and Yukon is one of four ecclesiastical provinces in the Anglican Church of Canada, the other three being Rupert's LandOntario, and Canada.   

Before the national church was created the Anglican dioceses in Canada began to gather together in what they called “provinces”. Just as the Church of England was organized into two provinces, York and Canterbury, each with their own archbishop, so were the dioceses organized into two ecclesiastical provinces - the ecclesiastical province of “Canada”, formed in 1861 (covering the Maritimes, Quebec, and most of Ontario) and the ecclesiastical province of “Rupert’s Land,” formed in 1875 (covering the Prairies and the Arctic).

When the ACC was created in 1893, General Synod received the power to create new provinces, subject to the consent of the dioceses and provinces affected. The ecclesiastical province of “Ontario” was carved out “Canada” in 1912, and in 1914, after the Diocese of Caledonia decided it was Canadian after all, the ecclesiastical province of “British Columbia and the Yukon” came into being.            

Each of the ecclesiastical provinces has an archbishop, who is one of the bishops within the province, and who is elected by the provincial synod. They are called “metropolitans” because in Europe the archbishop is always the bishop of the oldest and/or most important diocese, which is usually quite a metropolis, like Rome, Venice, Paris or Cologne.

In Canada, the archbishop can be from any diocese within the province. Our current metropolitan is The Most Reverend Dr Lynne McNaugton, the tenth bishop of Kootenay.