

The Diaconate in the Diocese of British Columbia - Milestones

1982	William Savage is ordained deacon and assigned to Parksville as an assistant
1991	The Diocese of BC agrees to restore an intentional diaconate
1992	Early deacons: three deacons are ordained and placed: Denis Wheeler, Margaret Edgar and Dolly Beaumont
1998	Early deacons: six deacons are ordained and placed: Suzanne Crerar, Eric Detchon, Nancy Ford, Charles Massey, Ron MacLuskie, Gil Shoesmith. (Ron and Charles were later priested.)
2004	Bishop James Cowan establishes a Commission on the Diaconate, which made the following recommendations:
	 establish a Chapter of Deacons appoint a Director of Deacons establish a diaconal discernment conference develop a formation/education program for deacons
2005	Deacon Nancy Ford is appointed Director Deacons
2006	Candidates from BC and New Westminster meeting in Abbotsford for a shared diaconal discernment weekend
2006	Deacon Betty McLeod Miller is elected the first chair of the Chapter
2007	BC hosts New Westminster for a diaconal discernment weekend at the Bethlehem Retreat Centre
2007	Deacon Nancy Ford is recognized by the North American Association for the Diaconate (NAAD) for her work on the diocesan formation and training program
2008	BC welcomes participants from the Diocese of Olympia at a diocesan discernment weekend
2010	The Chapter prepares a powerpoint presentation on the diaconate for Synod
2011	Deacon Nancy Ford is elected to the board of the Association for Anglican Deacons in Canada (AADC)
2012	The Chapter enters into a covenant with Christ Church Cathedral, Victoria
2013	"Pathways to Compassion," a documentary on the diaconate, was completed and premiered at the World Diakonia Conference in Berlin. It is later launched in BC, and briefly available on YouTube

2014	Deacon Nancy Ford is appointed to General Synod's Faith Worship and Ministry task force on the diaconate.
2016	General Synod adopts the Iona Report on the diaconate
2017-2020	Deacon Nancy Ford serves as Chair of AADC.
2017	Victoria hosts the triennial AADC conference.
2022	Deacon Nancy Ford retires as the Director of Deacons and is succeeded by Dean Ansley Tucker
2022	The Chapter hosts a clergy day on the diaconate, with guest speaker Archdeacon Bruce Morris from Vancouver
2023	Dean Ansley Tucker and Deacon Nancy Ford serve on the Strategic Planning committee of Anglican Deacons Canada (ADC).
2023	The diocesan Educational Trusts Board agrees to make funding available from the Mann Scholarship Trust for the training and education of deacons for ordained ministry
2023	Dean Ansley Tucker chairs a group charged with producing succinct theological statement on the diaconate for adoption by General Synod in 2025