

## **EDUCATIONAL TRUSTS BOARD**

The Educational Trusts Board (ETB) is responsible for the administration of five legacy trusts in the names of John Albert Hall, C.H.G. Mann and Stanley Flitcroft, and the Diocesan Swallow Trust and Lay Ministry Trusts. The Board meets five times a year to consider applications from both clergy and laity for full-time or part-time study, workshops, short courses, and the like.

Applicants must provide their reasons for study, details of the study and institution involved, budget, other sources of funding, and how their requests reflect the diocesan vision. One important change to ETB policy is that travel costs are now eligible for funding.

Recipients of grants are expected to report back to the Board on their learning outcomes and how their study has contributed to their ministry and development.

Since the last report to Synod, in additional to reviewing and approving requests from clergy and laity, the ETB:

- completed an analysis of the funds' income and spending history and was able to increase funding maximums by 30%;
- made the decision to allocate funds each year to a Lay Ministry Training Fund, to be dispersed by the Bishop; and
- approved a request for a contribution to the O'Driscoll Endowment.

Current members of the Educational Trusts Board are:

Appointed by the Will of the Late John Albert

Hall

Bishop: The Rt Rev'd Anna Greenwood-Lee Two senior canons:

The Rev'd Canon Dr Travis O'Brian

The Rev'd Canon Dr John Alfred

Steele

Chancellor: Isabel Weeks Treasurer: Barbara Underhill Appointed by the Flitcroft Trustee

Dr Martha McGinnis

Appointed by the Diocesan Council

Cindy Hayley Susan Rand Mona Smart

A separate committee, consisting of representatives of the diocese the Centre for Studies in Religion and Society (CSRS) at the University of Victoria organizes the John Albert Hall Lectures. The diocese provides an annual subsidy of \$25,000, through the John Albert Hall Trust.

Convening Circular - Section D Reports: ETB - Page 1 of 2

The diocesan website is a useful resource for additional information about the Educational Trusts Board.
Respectfully submitted,
Susan Rand, <i>lay secretary</i>