

## COMMITTEE REPORTS

## EDUCATIONAL TRUSTS BOARD

The Educational Trusts Board is responsible for the administration of five legacy trusts in the names of John Albert Hall, C.H.G. Mann and Stanley Flitcroft, and the Diocesan Swallow Trust and Lay Ministry Trusts. The Board meets five times a year to consider applications from both clergy and laity for full-time or part-time study, workshops, short courses, and the like.

Applicants must provide their reasons for study, details of the study and institution involved, budget, other sources of funding, and how their requests reflect the diocesan vision. One important change to ETB policy is that travel costs are now eligible for funding.

Recipients of grants are expected to report back to the Board on their learning outcomes and how their study has contributed to their ministry and development. In order to address the wide variety of reports (from thank you notes at one end, to essays at the other), the Board has recently created a standard reporting form.

Normally, ETB funds are disbursed to individual applicants wishing to pursue a particular program or course of study. In the current reporting period, the Board agreed that in certain circumstances, funding could also be provided to subsidize programs for lay training and education. Applicants for program funding are subject to the same application and reporting requirements as individual participants.

The Educational Trusts Board wants to be certain that all members of the diocese are aware of the grants available for study. Increased efforts are being made to ensure that information for applicants is more widely available. The diocesan website is a useful resource for this and articles about the funding options available have recently been published in the *Diocesan Post*.

Continued...



Current members of the Educational Trusts Board are:

Appointed by the Will of the Late John Albert Hall

Bishop:	The Rt Rev'd Anna Greenwood-Lee
Dean:	The Very Rev'd M. Ansley Tucker
Two senior canons:	The Rev'd Canon Kevin Arndt
	The Rev'd Canon Dr John Alfred Steele
Chancellor:	Robert Gill
Treasurer:	Barbara Underhill

Appointed by the Flitcroft Trustee

Dr Martha McGinnis

Appointed by the Diocesan Council

Canon Ian Alexander Cindy Hayley Susan Rand Canon Brenda Dhaene The Rev. Canon Dr Travis O'Brian The Rev. Dr Cathie Dafoe Hall

A separate committee, consisting of representatives of the diocese the Centre for Studies in Religion and Society (CSRS) at the University of Victoria organizes the John Albert Hall Lectures. A new Memorandum of Understanding between the diocese and the centre was signed in November 2019, covering three academic years through to Spring 2022. The diocese provides an annual subsidy of \$25,000, through the John Albert Hall Trust.

The lecture series is intended to offer high-profile public discussions on topics that exemplify "engaged theology" and provide opportunities for thoughtful consideration of major issues of our time, from a religious and spiritual perspective. In 2020/2021, the lectures have of necessity been delivered via Zoom instead of in person. While perhaps not appealing to all, this format allowed the series to include more speakers than usual as there was money saved from not having to pay for travel and accommodation for speakers. The 2020/2021 series concluded in March, with a panel discussion that included all speakers, again something that the online format supported.

Respectfully submitted,

Susan Rand, secretary

