THE 99TH SYNOD OF THE ANGLICAN SYNOD OF THE DIOCESE OF BRITISH COLUMBIA FOR THE ELECTION OF THE FOURTEENTH BISHOP

MINUTES OF SYNOD SEPTEMBER 26, 2020

1) THE HOLY EUCHARIST

The Synod opened with the celebration of the Holy Eucharist in Christ Church Cathedral at 9:00 am with the metropolitan, the Most Reverend Melissa Skelton, as the presider. Due to the restrictions in place throughout the Province of British Columbia as a result of the global COVID-19 pandemic, a limited number of officers of the Diocese, clergy and lay delegates of Synod were in attendance, in person, at this eucharist. Many other clergy and lay delegates were connected to this worship service through livestreaming. Each region of the Diocese held a concurrent celebration of the eucharist. The metropolitan's sermon was made available to all clergy, delegates, and diocesan parishioners either being livestreamed electronically, by pre-recorded presentation, and via written text.

2) OPENING OF THE SYNOD

The metropolitan convened the Synod at 11:00 am. Members of Synod were connected to the balloting centre at Christ Church Cathedral electronically using Zoom Video Conferencing and Data-on-the-Spot (SimplyVoting). By means of a separate electronic feed, a livestream of the proceedings from Christ Church Cathedral was distributed through broad-band connection to anyone with access to the internet. The chancellor, Robert Gill, outlined the work of the Episcopal Task Team, the actions taken by Diocesan Council, as the nominating committee under Canon 1.2g, and under Regulations 1.2.01 and Appendix C.

The metropolitan led the members of Synod in prayer.

3) **REGISTRAR'S REPORT**

The registrar, Mr. Nathan Lampard, reported as follows:

Delegates Eligible:		Delegates Registered:	
Clergy Lay	62 102	Clergy Lay	61 99
Total	164	Total	160

The Registrar declared that the 99th Synod had the quorum required to continue.

4) APPOINTMENT OF RETURNING AND DEPUTY RETURNING OFFICERS

The metropolitan announced the names of returning officer and the deputy returning officer:

Returning officer: Kathleen McCann Deputy returning officer: Ron Dyck

5) **REPORT OF THE NOMINATING COMMITTEE**

The Reverend Paul Schumacher, clerical secretary, reported that the Diocesan Council, as the Nominating Committee of the Synod, met on August 27th, 2020 and reviewed the nominee's information and resolved that their names be submitted to this Synod as follows:

The Reverend Canon Kevin Arndt	Priest of the Diocese of British Columbia Associate Priest – St John the Divine, Victoria BC Nominated by Joel Hefty
The Reverend Dr. Jennifer Cooper	Priest of the Diocese of Durham and Newcastle, UK Nominated by Heidi Teel
The Venerable Douglas Fenton	Priest of the Diocese of New Westminster Executive Archdeacon, Diocese of New Westminster Nominated by The Ven. Penelope Kingham
The Reverend Anna Greenwood-Lee	Priest of the Diocese of Calgary Incumbent – St Laurence, Calgary AB Nominated by The Ven. Barry Foster
The Venerable Alastair Singh-McCollum	Priest of the Diocese of British Columbia Incumbent – St John the Divine Victoria BC Archdeacon of Tolmie Region Nominated by Rev. Canon Nancy Ford
The Reverend Lon Towstego	Priest of the Diocese of British Columbia Incumbent - Parish of Central Saanich, Victoria BC Nominated by Godfrey J. Wearne
The Venerable Dr. Dawna Wall	Priest of the Diocese of British Columbia Incumbent – St Michael and All Angels, Victoria BC Archdeacon of Selkirk Region Nominated by Canon Ian Alexander

Public profiles, including video introductions of each candidate, and responses to the Diocesan profile questions for all candidates were sent to all members of Synod and publicly posted on the diocesan website. The report was received by the metropolitan.

6) NOMINATIONS FROM THE SYNOD DELEGATES ELECTRONICALLY RECEIVED (FROM THE FLOOR)

Instructions concerning further nominations stated that any nominations received after August 20th, 2020 would be considered as nominations from the floor. No nominations were received.

7) NOMINATIONS CEASE

The metropolitan declared that nominations were closed.

8) BALLOTING

Balloting was completed electronically or telephonically, under the guidance of Data-onthe-Spot, utilizing the SimplyVoting software, specifically designed for virtual balloting and results tabulation. Plans were in place in the event of a failure of the electronic voting platform.

Before balloting closed with each ballot, a five-minute warning of the close of balloting was sent electronically to each delegate of Synod. At the close of balloting for each ballot, the balloting was declared closed and the returning officer and deputy returning officer were instructed to receive the ballot results. Ballot results were provided to the candidates first, then distributed electronically to the delegates of Synod and through the livestreaming portal to the general public, at the same time.

9) BALLOTING RESULTS

In all, seven (7) ballots were required to attain a majority in each of the two houses.

10) ELECTION

After the results of the seventh ballot, the metropolitan announced that a majority had been reached in each of the two houses and that Anna Greenwood-Lee had received majority support from both the clergy and laity. The metropolitan asked Anna Greenwood-Lee if she would accept the will of the synod, that she become the 14th Bishop of the Diocese of British Columbia, and received an affirmative response. The metropolitan contacted each of the members of the Provincial House of Bishops and the Primate, Linda Nichol, to obtain their concurrence.

Following this, Archbishop Skelton announced that "we have an election."

Donald Hunt, director of music at Christ Church Cathedral, offered the Doxology, <u>Praise</u> <u>God from Whom All Blessings Flow,</u> on the Cathedral's pipe organ. Due to COVID-19 restrictions, there was no congregational singing.

The metropolitan asked if there were any challenges to the balloting results. None were received.

Bishop-elect, Anna Greenwood-Lee, was then connected by livestream into the proceedings, to offer a few words.

Joan Hoffman moved a motion of thanks, seconded by Paul Schumacher. The wording of this motion is attached to these minutes, as an addendum.

Archbishop Melissa Skelton offered a blessing.

Elaine Ellison called for a motion to adjourn this 99th Synod at 4:30 PM.

ADDENDUM TO THE MINUTES OF THE 99TH SYNOD SEPTEMBER 26, 2020

Motion of Thanks

MOVED BY:	Joan Hoffman
SECONDED BY:	Paul Schumacher

It is my pleasure to move this vote of thanks to all who have made today an over whelming success. To Archbishop Melissa Skelton: thank you for your kind words, prayers and your leadership. To Barry Foster and the synod staff: thank you. Catherine Pate who spent months of preparation: thank you. Dean Ansley, staff & volunteers: thank you for your hospitality. To Ian Alexander & assistants for the production: what can we say but a big thank you and it all ran so smoothly. Bob Gill, our chancellor, for working on the Regulations to enable this day to happen: we appreciate all your work. Paul, our secretary: thank you. To all the voters, clergy and lay delegates: a warm thank you for your time and participation. A warm thank you to all!

THE MOTION WAS CARRIED